问题

交通

多年来,现议员和州长漠不关心,承诺空洞无物,这让我们陷入了全面的交通危机。从就业到教育,再到医疗卫生,乃至我们几乎所有的需求,我们都依赖于本州的基础设施,依赖其进行可靠的交通活动。此外,随着全球气候变化的迫近,我们不能再拖延转型事宜了。我们都知道,我们需要摆脱当前的体系,不能再以高速公路为中心,不能再依赖矿物燃料,而应转型选择更具可持续性的方案。COVID-19 危机之后,我们在经济复苏之路上前行。此时此刻,公共交通将是至关重要的。研究表明,我们在公共交通上每花一美元,就会在经济增长方面,得到四美元的回报。在这些时期,人人都有权享受经济、便捷且可持续的公共交通服务。如果对这种出行权视而不见,则我们将不再能够承受由此而带来的后果。

优先事项:

  • 提供充足的资金,扩建 MBTA 和其他现有的公共交通设施
  • 通过《马萨诸塞州绿色新政》,帮助实现转型,摆脱当前的矿物燃料体系
  • 增加公共交通投资,并向免费体系过渡,将交通权确立为一项权利
  • 修建横贯东西的铁路线路,刺激马萨诸塞州西部地区的经济增长,同时还可以缓解波士顿及其周边地区的交通和 住房问题 .

住房

作为一个曾经无家可归的人,我知道住房是一项权利。缺乏经济适用房是本州的一个危机。马萨诸塞州潜力巨大,但如果人们在这里住不起房,那么这些都将无从谈起。技能型工人往往会离开本州,前往成本更低的地区。因此,这会加剧经济的不平衡,让无家可归者增多,并会伤害我们的经济。更重要的是,这意味着:我们的孩子将无力与家人在这里生活。这是一个复杂的问题,需要从许多不同的角度来解决,但我希望实施一些改革举措。

优先事项:

  • 采用住房优先模式,为无家可归者提供永久性住房,以及支持性服务,以解决本州的无家可归问题
  • 在全州范围内,规定涨幅百分比上限(类似于加州或俄勒冈州),稳定本州的租金增长幅度
  • 全面引入《租户权利法案》,其中包括组织权、咨询权,以及保护租户、使其免于承担不公正的费用、不被驱逐等内容
  • 结束本州富人区和白人区数十年来限制性分区的做法,并争取制定新的分区规则,鼓励开发混合收入群体住房,或多户住房之类的项目 
  • 确保所有的开发项目均由当地工会劳工建造,以保障工资水平,并确保达到最高的安全标准

医疗卫生

在这些时期,我们都看到了获取公平医疗卫生资源的真正重要性。我患有慢性病和罕见遗传病,医疗债务令我不堪重负,这让我的生活偏离了正轨。现有的医疗体系往往无力救助那些最需要救助的人,我亲眼目睹了这点。当下全球大流行,我们现在较以往任何时候,都更需要一个这样的州:该州可以将医疗卫生作为一项权利,并可保证每位居民都能承担得起良好的医疗服务,而不论其社会经济地位如何。

优先事项:

  • 争取在本联邦建立全民医疗保障体系
  • 按照公共卫生官员的科学建议,积极工作、应对健康危机
  • 确立安全的患者限额制度和相关法规,确保私有医院和医疗服务提供方优先考虑患者和一线医疗工作者的福利,而不是削减成本
  • 公开为基础服务提供资金,并停止关闭这些服务。我们必须确保:所有社区都能获得医疗卫生服务。

透明度

当前,笔架山上的权力架构缺乏民主、日趋集中,且推卸责任,这让游说者更易于瞄准高层人士、对体系进行破坏,并设置参与障碍。真正民主的立法机构对所有选民都是开放的,其业务也是透明的。尽管近期进行了改革,但公共记录系统仍然羸弱,这阻碍了政府问责,马萨诸塞州是仅有的这样的两个州之一:州政府所有的三个分支机构都声称,其不受公共记录请求的约束。为做到这一点,我们需要强大的领导者,这些领导者应能够挺身而出,实施问责举措,为更加多元的候选人铺平道路,并能够主动解决这些问题。作为州代表,我将携手同事、活动家和结盟组织,共同组建一个广泛的联盟,以实现这些目标。

优先事项:

  • 让州议会的规则更加透明,让选民知道其代表是如何投票的
  • 设立一个开放的办公室,该办公室可由所有的社区成员使用,并可针对该地区服务不足和边缘化的社区,培养与这些社区的关系,并能积极鼓励公民参与
  • 公开所有委员会的投票结果和证词
  • 支持所有的唱名投票结果,而不论要求唱名的成员提出何种议案,也不论其党派归属如何

收入与经济公平

多年来,我们看到收入不平等问题日益严重,已达到当前令人惊愕的水平。与此同时,我们设有州和国家两级税收体系,该体系在涉及富人和公司时,均未能与时俱进,或在某些情况下,事实上更是远远落后。在谈及国家税收时,我的理念实际上很简单,即:人们缴纳的份额必须合理。公司和超级富豪与其他所有人一样,都从学校、基础设施和公共卫生等公共服务中受益。尽管如此,立法机构还是大幅削减了本联邦最富有收入者和大公司的税负。这导致的结果是,在州税收中,收入最低的 20% 的人现缴纳的年收入所得税,已接近收入最高 1% 者的两倍。最近,全国只有其他两个州的减税幅度比马萨诸塞州更大。根据“大众预算和政策中心”发布的报告,此差异已给本州预算造成了 40 亿美元的缺口。

优先事项:

  • 努力制定《公平份额修正案》,改革我们上下颠倒的税法,让富人缴纳的所得税率高于工薪阶层家庭
  • 恢复对富人、公司和金融精英征税,阻止公司和富人聚集经济和政治权力
  • 努力改革马萨诸塞州当前的累退平税,该税偏向身家亿万的首席执行官们,这些人缴纳的税率仅与次最低工资级别的服务业员工相同

社会和种族平等

长期以来,立法者忽略了制止犯罪最有效的方法,并优先制定了这样的政策:这些政策导致严刑峻法,进而导致累犯率过高,并导致贫困加剧。我们的刑事司法体系过于注重惩罚性措施,而不注重真正的改造举措。从 2011 年到 2016 年,监狱支出增长加快,超过了马萨诸塞州预算的任何其他部分,而用于教育等必要服务的资金却陷入停滞。“马萨诸塞州惩教署”每安置一名犯人,每年的平均成本超过了 60,000 美元。这种做法必须改变,我们需要领导者优先考虑真正的公平问题,而不是采取严厉的惩罚性措施。

优先事项:

  • 结束大规模监禁政策,以及导致大规模监禁的结构性种族主义政策
  • 重新分配已向警察预算转移的资源,将这些资源重新分配给更多基于社区的资源,以应对精神卫生和创伤事件
  • 公平地为公立学校提供资金、实施全民医疗保障制度、终结经济适用房危机,并缩小有色人种与白人社区之间的财富、收入和权力差距,以解决结构性的种族主义遗留问题
  • 保护所有马萨诸塞州居民的权利,无论其种族、性别、取向或身份状况如何

LGBTQ+ 权利

近年来,LGBTQ+ 权利取得了令人瞩目的进步。与此同时,我们必须记住,要推动这些权利、形成政策和措施,仍有大量的工作要做。马萨诸塞州的 LGBTQ+ 社区是一个多元、年轻人比例较高的社区,如果按照该州人口百分比衡量,其在全美排名第二。但是,这些人面临着广泛的歧视,其面对的压抑、无家可归和粮食安全风险更高。马萨诸塞州的许多人倾向于将本州视为进步政策的领导者,但直到去年,马萨诸塞州才最终禁止了有害的转换疗法。我们需要做更多的工作,以保护 LGBTQ+ 年轻人和老年人的健康和福祉,并在政策中建立交叉思维模式,承认经济适用房、食品安全、精神健康,以及去监禁问题是重要的 LGBTQ+ 问题。但令人失望的是,一些人拒绝理解 LGBTQ+ 权利是基本的人权。

优先事项:

  • 确保所有性别和取向的人都能全面获得医疗卫生服务。
  • 确保 LGBTQ+ 社区的所有成员均有权出现在公共场所之中,而不会受到歧视。
  • 提供更具交叉性的社会服务
  • 增加 LGBTQ+ 在各级政府,以及在政策制定活动中的代表权

公共教育

公共教育是对本联邦未来的投资,并让我们能够在全球创新和产业市场中展开竞争。我是一位母亲,改善教育体系是我的优先考虑事项。不论种族或社会经济地位如何,每个孩子都应享有高质量的教育,但我们的学校体系却仍是全国最不公平的体系之一。加剧这种差距的是,各州通常会向各区下达指令,如:特殊教育班的师生比例,以及只能使用计算机进行 MCAS 测试,但却没有提供实施这些变革的资源。去年,《学生机会法案》获得通过。虽然这是解决此问题的一个良好开端,但却仅此而已。尽管政府承诺增加资金,但许多学区仍然只能获得“最低限度的援助”。这意味着,这些学区在未来几年间,其预算增长率将低于通货膨胀率。我坚信,我们需要确保:本州所有的城镇和地区必须至少维持其当前的教育质量,而不会陷入不利境地,被迫削减市政服务,或增加地方税负,以填补这一资金缺口。此外,马萨诸塞州数十年来,一直在缩减高等教育方面的投资,并将成本负担转嫁给学生。这导致学费上涨,让学生们面临风险,承担长期债务,或完全无法享有高等教育。

优先事项:

  • 确保所有的教育任务均配套有必要的实施资金
  • 增加资金,支持小班制,并提供全额资金,支持特殊教育和英语学习者课程
  • 暂停高风险实验项目,逐步采取更有效、更全面的方式,对学生和学区进行评估
  • 确保普及高质量的学前教育
  • 确保公立大学的所有学生在毕业时没有债务

气候危机

没有什么比我们呼吸的空气和饮用的水更加重要了。每年,因空气污染所致疾病而死的人超过了 10 万。在此次 COVID-19 大流行过程中,解决此问题已成为当务之急。最近,一项研究显示,即使空气污染程度略有加重,也可能会让一国的死亡率升高 15%。去年,“美国肺脏协会”发布了一份报告。该报告显示,因发电厂排放,以及因气候变化导致气温上升的原因,本联邦过去三年的空气质量已然变差。同样是在去年,“环境工作组”注意到:我们的水源中出现了许多化学物质,其水平虽在法定限值之内,但据现在已知的情况,该水平仍然是有害的。我们知道,法律法规尚未跟上科学的步伐,现在是我们优先考虑此事的时候了。

优先事项:

  • 通过《马萨诸塞州绿色新政》,优先推动本州实现转型,力争在 2030 年摆脱化石燃料
  • 增加资金,支持 MBTA 和其他公共交通项目,确保马萨诸塞州居民出行的经济性和可持续性
  • 提倡环境公平政策,并与社区合作,确保人人在对其有影响的环境决策中,都有发言权
  • 运用最新的科学知识,更新本州的环境法规

阿片类药物泛滥

由于致命和高成瘾性阿片类药物唾手可得,此类成瘾性药物泛滥成灾,正在对本联邦造成破坏。我们知道,定罪和监禁并不能有效应对这场危机,而只会消耗有效项目的资金。这是因为,随着狱中成瘾者人数的攀升,监禁的成本也会水涨船高。我们“曾对毒品宣战”,民主党也曾于 90 年代,通过药物滥用法律,对犯罪采取过强硬立场。如果我们要从过去这些毒品政策中汲取教训,那么该教训就是:这些方法均告失败,我们需要一种新的方法。

优先事项:

  • 制订法律,将成瘾症视为精神疾病,并优先进行治疗而不是监禁。
  • 投资医疗、咨询和社区项目
  • 对医生和患者进行教育,使其了解使用阿片类药物的危害,并优先选择替代疗法来缓解疼痛。

Nichole 是完成工作的公认理想人选,而这正是她前往笔架山的目的!

THE ISSUES

Transportation

Years of apathy and empty promises from our current legislators and governor have led us into a full-blown transportation crisis.  From employment to education to healthcare and almost every need we have, we are dependent on our state’s infrastructure for reliable transportation. Furthermore, with global climate change looming on the horizon, we can no longer delay the transition we all know we need away from our current highway centric and fossil fuel dependent system to a more sustainable option. As we navigate the road to economic recovery after the COVID-19 crisis, public transit will be vital. Studies have shown that for every dollar spent on public transit, we gain four back in economic growth. In these times, we can no longer afford to ignore the right to mobility through affordable, accessible, and sustainable public transportation for everyone.

Priorities:

  • Fully fund and expand the MBTA and other current public transportation options
  • Pass a Massachusetts Green New Deal to help transfer away from our current fossil fuel-dependent system
  • Establish transportation as a right by increasing the funding of our public transportation and transitioning to a fare-free system
  • Build the East-West Rail Line which would spur economic growth in Western Massachusetts, while also easing traffic and housing problems in and around Boston

Housing

As someone who has experienced homelessness, I know that housing is a right. The lack of affordable housing is a crisis in this state. Massachusetts has a lot to offer, but that does little if people can’t afford to live here. It has led to expanding economic inequality, increased homelessness, and damage to our economy, as talented workers often leave the state for less expensive regions. More importantly, it means our children can’t afford to build a life here with their families. This is a complex problem that needs to be addressed from many different angles, but here are a few of the reforms I would like to see implemented

Priorities:

  • Address homelessness in our state, by adopting a housing-first model that provides permanent housing and support services for people experiencing homelessness
  • Stabilize rent increases in our state by enacting a statewide percentage increase cap, similar to that of California or Oregon
  • Introduce a comprehensive Tenants’ Bill of Rights, which would include the right to organize, the right to counsel, and protection from unjust fees and evictions to name a few among others
  • End the decades of restrictive zoning practices in wealthier and whiter neighborhoods around our state, and fight for new zoning rules that encourage the development of projects like the construction of mixed-income or multi-family housing 
  • Ensure that all development projects are built by local, union labor that protects wages and ensures the highest safety standards

Healthcare

In these times, we see how important access to equitable healthcare really is. As someone who lives with a chronic and rare genetic disorder, I’ve experienced how life can be derailed by crushing medical debt. I’ve seen first hand how often our current medical system fails those who need it the most.  Amidst the current global pandemic, now more than ever we need a state that treats healthcare as a right and guarantees good affordable care for every resident regardless of socio-economic status.

Priorities:

  • Fight to establish Medicare for All in our Commonwealth
  • Work proactively to combat health crises by using the science-based recommendations of public health officials
  • Establish safe patient limits and regulation to ensure privately owned hospitals and healthcare providers prioritize the wellbeing of patients and frontline healthcare workers over cutting costs
  • Publicly fund and stop closing down essential services. We must ensure all communities have access to healthcare

Transparency

Currently an undemocratic, centralized, unaccountable power structure on Beacon Hill makes it easier for lobbyists to target the top and undermine the system and erects  barriers to participation. A truly democratic legislative body is accessible to all voters and is transparent in its business. Despite recent reforms, a weak public records system impedes government accountability and MA is one of only two states where all three branches of state government claim to be exempt from public records requests. In order to obtain this, we need strong leaders who will stand up to implement accountability measures, paving the way for more diverse candidates, and who will be proactive in addressing the issues. As a State Representative, I will work to build a broad coalition with my colleagues, activists, and allied groups to obtain these goals.

Priorities:

  • Make the rules of the State House more transparent so voters know how their representatives are voting
  • Create an open office which is accessible to all community members, fosters relationships with the underserved and marginalized communities of the district, and actively encourages citizen participation
  • Make public all committee votes and testimonies
  • Stand for all roll call votes regardless of the bill and partisan affiliation of the member who calls for the roll call

Revenue and Economic Justice

For years, we have watched as income inequality has risen to its current, staggering levels.  When addressing state revenue my philosophy is actually quite simple, people need to pay their fair share.  Meanwhile, our tax system, on both the state and national level, has either failed to keep up or, in some cases, actually fallen further behind when it comes to dealing with the wealthy and corporations. Corporations and the ultra-wealthy benefit from public services like schools, infrastructure, and public health just as much as everyone else. Despite this, the legislature has drastically cut taxes on the wealthiest income earners and large corporations in our Commonwealth. This has led to the bottom 20% of earners now pay just under double of their annual income in state taxes than the top 1% of earners. Only 2 other states in the Nation have recently cut their taxes more than MA. This discrepancy has blasted a 4 billion dollar hole in our state budget according to reports from the Mass Budget and Policy Center.

Priorities:

  • Work to enact the Fair Share Amendment and reform our upside-down tax code so that the wealthy pay a higher share of their income than working class families
  • Stop the accumulation of economic and political power by corporations and the wealthy by restoring the taxes on wealth, C-corps, and the financial elite
  • Work to reform the regressive flat tax Massachusetts currently has which allows billionaire CEOs to pay the same rate as a service worker on a sub-minimum wage

Social and Racial Justice

For far too long, lawmakers have ignored the most effective approaches for deterring crime and have prioritized policies that lead to high convictions and harsh sentences which has led to high recidivism and deep poverty.  Our criminal justice system has focused too much on punitive action rather than real rehabilitation. From 2011 to 2016, spending on prisons grew faster than any other part of the Massachusetts budget, while funding for necessary services, such as education, languished. The average cost per year to house an inmate in the Massachusetts Department of Corrections is more than $60,000. This approach must change, and we need leaders who will prioritize true justice over harsh punitive action.

Priorities:

  • End mass incarceration and the structural racist policies which lead to it
  • Reallocate the resources that have been diverted to police budgets to more community-based resources for mental health and trauma-related incidences
  • Address the legacy of structural racism by equitably funding our public schools, implementing Medicare for All, ending the affordable housing crisis, and closing the wealth, income, and power gap between communities of color and white communities
  • Protect the rights of all Massachusetts residents regardless of race, gender, orientation, or documentation status

LGBTQ+ Rights

There have been impressive advances in LGBTQ+ rights in recent years and at the same time, we must remember how much work there is still to do in advancing those rights into policy and action. Massachusetts’ LGBTQ+ community is diverse, disproportionately young, and second in the nation when measured as a percentage of the state’s population. However, they face widespread discrimination and are at greater risk for depression, homelessness, and food insecurity. Many people in Massachusetts have a tendency to see our state as a leader on progressive policy, but it was only last year that Massachusetts finally banned the harmful practice of conversion therapy. We need to be doing more to protect the health and well-being of our LGBTQ+ youth and seniors, and to build into our policy the intersectional thinking that recognizes that affordable housing, food security, mental healthcare, and decarceration are important LGBTQ+ issues. It is disappointing that there are individuals who refuse to understand that LGBTQ+ rights are basic human rights.

Priorities:

  • Ensure access to full health care for all genders and orientations.
  • Guarantee the rights of all members of the LGBTQ+ community to exist in public places free from discrimination.
  • Provide social services with a more intersectional emphasis
  • Increase LGBTQ+ representation at all levels of government and policy making

Public Education

Public education is an investment into the future of our Commonwealth and to be able to compete in the global marketplace of innovation and industry. As a mother, improving the education system is a top priority for me. Every child deserves a high-quality education regardless of race or socioeconomic status and yet our school system remains one of the most unequal in the country. Aggravating this disparity, districts are routinely given directives from the state, such as teacher-to-student ratios for special education classes and computer-only MCAS testing, but not the resources to implement these changes.  While the Student Opportunity Act passed this last year was a good start to solving this problem, that is all it is.  Despite the promise of increased funding, many school districts will still receive “minimum-aid-only”, which means they will have below inflation budget increases for the coming years. I firmly believe that we need to make sure that all our state’s towns and districts are at the very least maintaining their current quality of education, and not be put in a position where they are forced to either cut municipal services or raise local tax burdens to fill this funding gap.  Additionally, Massachusetts has been disinvesting from higher education and shifting the cost burden onto students for decades.  This has led to higher tuition costs, putting students at risk of long-term debt or making higher education out of reach for them entirely.

Priorities:

  • Ensure all education mandates are accompanied by the necessary funding to enact them
  • Increase funding to support small class sizes and fully fund programs for special education and English Language Learners
  • Place a moratorium on high stakes testing and transition to more effective and comprehensive means to asses are students and school districts
  • Guarantee universal access to high-quality Pre-K education
  • Ensure all students of public universities graduate debt-free

The Climate Crisis

Nothing is more important than the air we breathe and the water we drink. Every year more than 100,000 people die from illnesses attributed to air pollution. Amid this COVID-19 pandemic, addressing this issue has become all the more urgent. Recently, a study showed that even a slight increase in air pollution could increase a country’s mortality rate by 15%. A report released last year by the American Lung Association showed that air quality has become worse in the Commonwealth over the past three years due to power plant emissions and rising temperatures from climate change. Also last year, the Environmental Working Group noticed many chemicals in our water supply in levels now known to be harmful even within legal limits. We know the law and regulations have not caught up to science and it’s time we make this a priority.

Priorities:

  • Pass a Massachusetts Green New Deal which prioritizes transitioning the state away from fossil fuels by 2030
  • Increase funding for the MBTA and other public transportation to ensure affordable and sustainable mobility for Massachusetts residents
  • Promote environmental justice policies and work with communities to ensure that everyone has a say in the environmental impact decisions that will affect them
  • Update state environmental regulations with current scientific knowledge

The Opioid Epidemic

There is an addiction epidemic ravaging our Commonwealth because of the wide availability of deadly and highly addictive opioids. We know that criminalization and incarceration is not working in battling this crisis and is only starving programs that do work for funds as the cost of incarceration rises with the population of addicts in our prisons. If we are to take anything away from the drug policies of the past, including the “War on Drugs” and tough on crime stance Democrats took in the 90s when passing substance abuse laws, it is that these methods have failed and we need a new approach.

Priorities:

  • Enact legislation to treat addiction as a mental health disorder and prioritize treatment over incarceration.
  • Invest in medical treatment, counseling, and community based initiatives
  • Educate doctors and patients on the dangers of opioid use and prioritize alternative therapies for pain remediation.

Nichole is known as the person to go to in order to get things done, and that’s what she’s going to Beacon Hill to do!