攸关之事

梅德福和马尔登需要选出领导人,以代表我们的价值观和关切。因此,Nichole 向现任领导人 Paul Donato 发起了挑战。以下只是这两者之间的一些明显区别:

Paul Donato 始终未能全面保障妇女的生育健康权利。Nichole 支持妇女获得权利,并能以此选择和享有生育健康服务。

  • 他一贯支持反堕胎,并在马萨诸塞州市民中长期留有此形象
  • 2013 年,他与他人共同发起立法,在享有生育健康服务方面,造成了不必要的延误。(众议院第1565 号表决)。
  • 2005 年,他投票反对及时提供紧急避孕服务。(参议院第2073 号表决、第 84 号唱名投票)
  • 2005 年,他投票反对开展拯救生命的干细胞研究活动。(参议院第2039 号表决、第 69 号唱名投票)

Paul Donato 一贯反对婚姻平等,并在许多场合,投票反对让 LGBTQ+ 社区成员获得权利,以及对其加以保护,他是仅有的此类地区立法者之一。Nichole 支持全面提供平等的权利,并对所有人加以保护。

    • 2016 年,他投票反对禁止基于性别认同、对他人进行歧视。(参议院第735 号表决、第 276 号唱名投票)
    • 2012 年,他投票反对在仇恨犯罪法律中,增加性别认同方面的内容 (H.3810 号表决、第 166 号唱名投票)
    • 2007 年,他投票修改州宪法,将同性婚姻定为非法。(制宪会议厅第 103 号投票活动)
  • Paul Donato 投票支持大幅削减公司税,并反对采取措施,将预算优先事项转向相关计划,以支持在职家庭、儿童和低收入居民;而与此同时,从教育到交通、再到医疗等优先事项却未能得到足够的资金。Nichole 将努力确保让公司支付合理的份额,并让优先事项获得资金。

    • 2019 年,他投票反对取消 3700 万美元的减税政策。该政策经过专门设计,旨在帮助最富有的公司,并被州参议院控股公司所反对。(众议院第4127 号表决、第 60 号修正案)
    • 2005 年,他投票反对封堵 8500 万美元的税收漏洞,而公司利用其中一个漏洞,即可将资金转移出本联邦,进而逃避缴纳州税(众议院第4163 号表决、第4167 号文件、第 74 号唱名投票)
    • 2003 年,他投票反对成立专门的委员会。该委员会旨在管理公司税的披露活动,以加强公司的问责机制 (Bill H.4000 Section 470 Roll Call 71)。
    • 2003年,他投票延长公司税的优惠期限,将该期限从 14 年延长到了 19 年 (Bill H.4000 Section 165 Roll Call 71)。
  • 现在是我们选出代表的时候了,我们的代表将尊重本地区每个人的尊严,致力于保护本地区每个人的权利,并将支持我们所有的邻居,而这些人都需要由州政府为其服务。我就是那个人。在即将于 9 月 1 日举行的初选中,我请求您投我一票。

    我们的价值观。我们共同的关切。

    投票支持 Nichole Mossalam

What’s at Stake

Nichole is challenging the incumbent Paul Donato because Medford and Malden deserve elected leaders who represent our values and our concerns. Here are just some of the clear differences between them:

Paul Donato has consistently failed to protect the right of complete reproductive healthcare for women. Nichole supports a woman’s right to choose and access to reproductive health services.

  • He has consistently held a Pro-life rating from Mass Citizens for Life
  • In 2013, he co-sponsored legislation to create unnecessary delays in accessing reproductive health care. (Bill H. 1565).
  • In 2005, he voted against providing timely access to emergency contraception. (S. 2073 Roll Call 84)
  • In 2005, he voted against life saving stem cell research. (S. 2039, Roll Call 69)

Paul Donato was one of the only area legislators to consistently oppose marriage equality and voted against the rights and protections of members of the LGBTQ+ community on numerous occasions. Nichole supports full equal rights and protections for all.

    • In 2016, he voted against prohibiting discrimination based on gender identity. (S. 735 Roll Call 276)
    • In 2012, he voted against adding gender identity to hate crime laws (H. 3810 Roll Call 166)
    • In 2007, he voted to change the state constitution to make same-sex marriage illegal. (Constitutional Convention House Vote 103)
  • Paul Donato has voted for huge corporate tax cuts and opposed efforts to shift budget priorities toward programs that support working families, children, and lower income residents, and at a time when priorities from education, to transportation, to healthcare are underfunded. Nichole will work to ensure corporations pay their fair share, and our priorities are funded.

    • In 2019, he not only voted against eliminating a $37 million tax cut specifically designed to help the wealthiest companies and which was defeated by the State Senate holding firm against it.  (Bill H. 4127 Amendment 60)
    • In 2005, he voted against closing $85 Million in tax loopholes, one of which allowed corporations to shift capital out of the Commonwealth to avoid state taxes (Bill H. 4163, doc. 4167 Roll Call 74)
    • In 2003, he voted against establishing a special commission on corporate tax disclosure that would foster greater corporate accountability (Bill H.4000 Section 470 Roll Call 71).
    • In 2003, he voted to extend the limit on corporate tax credits from 14 years to 19 years (Bill H.4000 Section 165 Roll Call 71).
  • It’s time that we have a representative who respects the dignity of everyone in our district, works to protect the rights of everyone in our district, and supports all of our neighbors who need a state government that works for them. I am that person and I am asking for your vote in the upcoming primary on Sept. 1st.

    Our Values. Our Shared Concerns.

    Vote Nichole Mossalam